Sunrisers thump Delhi daredevils

Pin It

Egged on by over 28,000 vociferous fans, the hosts, The Sunrisers Hyderabad, turned the heat on the Delhi Daredevils and carved out a comprehensive six-wicket win with 37 balls to spare.

The Daredevils’ intention — to get a decent score on the board and try to put the rival batting under pressure — was clear after skipper Mahela Jayawardene elected to bat. Unfortunately they hadn’t contended with the bounce and pace which the Sunrisers’ pacers were able to generate early on. They were skittled out for a lowly 80 in 19.1 overs.

sammy sunrisers hyderabad ipl Sunrisers thump Delhi daredevils

The Sunrisers wasted no time in going after the Daredevils attack as Shikhar Dhawan struck four boundaries in his 16-ball 22 to give the hosts a flying start. After Dhawan was trapped leg before by Johan Botha, the Sunrisers sent in big-hitting Ashish Reddy (5) to knock off the runs quickly but he was sent back by Ashish Nehra.

Two runs later, Parthiv Patel was stumped by Kedar Jadhav off leggie Jeevan Mendis and the Daredevils seemed to spring back to life. Botha, Mendis and Shabaaz Nadeem made life difficult for the Sunrisers.

However, Darren Sammy (18) struck a six off Mendis and then GH Vihari (9) finished off the contest with a cover drive off Umesh Yadav. The Sunrisers made 81 for four in 13.5 overs. The Sunrisers’ fifth win at home not only took their tally to 14 points but also helped improve their net run-rate.

Earlier, Dale Steyn’s fiery first over gave an indication of what was in store. Jayawardene edged the sixth ball past Sammy in the slips for a boundary and it became clear that the visitors were going to live by the edge of the sword.

Ishant Sharma followed it up with another searing over to Sehwag. Skipper Jayawardene (11) was done in by umpire Asad Rauf who gave him out leg before to Ishant. Delhi could not recover from there.

You might also like:

Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium Inaugurated
ICC president Sharad...
MI vs CSK : 4th Apr 2012
Mumbai Indians won t...
Rahane ab to Rehne De !!
This is what the sup...
RCB vs [KXIP] : 2nd May 2012
Piyush Chawla (6 not...
Kolkata notched a close victory over Pune
Kolkata Knight Rider...
What happened to Junior Mallya
Mr. Sidhartha Mallya...
RCB vs [KXIP] : 14th May 2013
Proving that their e...
Kings XI Punjab beat Mumbai Indians by 50 runs
Kings XI Punjab defe...

Live score