IPL 2011

Pin It

The fourth season of Indian Premier League was full of many twists and turns.

Firstly, it was announed that two new teams from Pune and Kochi were added to the tournament.. However, the way the bid around the Kochi franchisee turned controversial resulting in the resignation of Shashi Tharoor, minister from the Central Government, leading to investigations by various departments of the Government of India into the financial dealings of IPL and the other existing franchisees.

Later, Lalit Modi, who introduced us with this lucrative form of cricket, was also removed from IPL chairmanship by BCCI. Later, it was confirmed that Kochi will take part in the fourth season of IPL.

ipl champions 2011 chennai superkings IPL 2011

As the total number of teams was increased from 8 to 10, it would have resulted in the increase of number of matches from 60 to 94. To avoid this and to fit the tournament in the very-compact yearly cricket calendar, a new format was being followed.

According to the new format, each team had to play 5 other teams in a two-way round robin format and there would be 2 teams against whom they would play only at home and remaining 2 teams against which they would play only away matches. Thus each team plays 14 matches.

Top four teams would qualify for the semi-finals.

The problems were not solved as in October 2010, Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab had their franchises terminated for breaching ownership rules. The new Kochi franchise was also issued a warning to resolve all their ownership disputes. Two months later both teams were finally allowed to take part in the 2011 edition after a court ruling.

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings won their second IPL title after defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs in the final of the tournament. CSK had beaten RCB in the playoffs too while RCB defeated Mumbai Indians to reach the final.

This was the first time a franchise has won two IPL titles, had four consecutive semi-final visits, come to the finals three times, and successfully defended their title.

Chris Gayle, who was discarded by the WICB, won the Orange Cap for maximum runs in the tournament (608 from 12 matches) while Lasith Malinga who plays for the Mumbai Indians got the Purple Cap for most wickets (28 from 16 matches).

Kieron Pollard was awarded for taking most catches in the tournament while Kings XI Punjab batsman Paul Valthaty was awarded the Best Individual Performance in the IPL for his 120 runs against Chennai.

The Rising Star of IPL was awarded to Iqbal Abdullah of Kolkata Knight Riders.

You might also like:

Deccan Chargers & Emirates
Deccan Chargers have...
Hodge helps RR defeat KKR
With some all-round ...
KXIP vs PWI : 12th Apr 2012
In a low scoring mat...
Rahane ab to Rehne De !!
This is what the sup...
KKR beat CSK to win maiden IPL title, CSK couldn't defend
A once-in-a-lifetime...
Rajasthan Royals won a thriller from Delhi Daredevils
Kevon Cooper bowled ...
Chennai Super Kings crush Pune Warriors
Laggards Pune Warrio...
IPL 2013 in Numbers and Leaders
Finally, Pepsi IPL 2...

Live score